Alabama Chapter

Official State Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Nominations are being accepted for the 2023 Alabama Chapter. Please email the form to NOMINATION FORM


Lifetime Service To Wrestling

Given in recognition of years of dedication to the development of leadership and citizenship in the youth through the sport of wrestling.

Outstanding American

Given to former wrestlers who are highly successful and use the disciplines learned in wrestling in their profession.

Medal of Courage

Is presented to a wrestler or former wrestler who has overcome what appear to be insurmountable challenges.


Alabama Chapter Board

2021-2022 Officers

Toney Pugh – President
Jeff Saxon – Secretary
Don Korn – Treasurer

Other Board Members

Jack Burton, Dwight Buzbee, John Calvarese, Steve Gaydosh, Jeff Hasse, Randy Haught, Billy Hughes, Daryle Qualls, Willie Staggs, Glynn Stowe, Dickey Wright

email is

Alabama Chapter Inductions

The Alabama Chapter will be holding its National Wrestling Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony for the Classes of 2022 on Sunday, May 15th, 2022 at the Trussville Civic Center, 5381 Trussville-Clay Rd., Trussville AL. 35173. 

2 p.m. – Social Time with meal & memorabilia display

3:30 p.m. – Induction Ceremony

For sponsorships, please contact Jeff Saxon at

Alabama Chapter Class of 2022

Outstanding American

Norm Latona, Owner, Southeastern Pond Management, Inc. 

Lifetime Service to Wrestling

Jim Caneer, Huntsville High School, Coach

Joe Dasaro, Grissom High School, Coach

Ed Franks, Gardendale High School, Coach

Mike Swinson, Official

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations