Ken Shamrock Will Receive George Tragos Award

WATERLOO, Iowa – One of wrestling’s most famous mixed martial arts fighters and UFC Hall of Famer Ken Shamrock will receive the George Tragos Award at the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum’s 2020 George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame induction weekend on July 23-25.

The George Tragos Award is presented to an exceptionally competitive wrestler who adapted his or her wrestling skills and competitive nature to excel in mixed martial arts.

Shamrock won the inaugural UFC Superfight Championship, which later became the UFC Heavyweight Championship, by defeating Dan Severn at UFC 6. He became the first foreign MMA Champion in Japan when he won the King of Pancrase title in 1994 and he captured the Grand Prix Finals in 2000.

He also held numerous professional wrestling titles, including the NWA World Title and the WWE Intercontinental Championship.

Tragos was one of the most feared submission wrestlers during the 1920's and 1930's. He wrestled and threw discus for the Greek Olympic team in 1920 and 1924 and was the AAU freestyle champion at 158 pounds in 1919, wrestling for the Gary, Indiana YMCA. He worked with Don Faurot to revitalize the University of Missouri wrestling program in 1944.

All-Access passes for induction weekend are available for $115 until May 31. All-Access Passes provide admission to all events, including a ticket to the Hall of Fame Banquet, a ringside seat at the Impact Pro Wrestling show, if available, and preferred access at the autograph signing. Some events are only open to All-Access Pass holders and distinguished guests.

To order your All-Access Pass, please email or telephone (319) 233-0745.

Inductees and luminaries of the sport scheduled to attend induction weekend include:
Adnan Alkaissy: 2020 George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame inductee
Mark Henry: 2020 Frank Gotch Award recipient
Trish Stratus: 2020 Lou Thesz World Heavyweight Award recipient
Ken Shamrock: 2020 George Tragos Award
Gerry Brisco: WWE® Hall of Famer, NWA World Junior Heavyweight Champion, NWA World Tag Team Champion, longtime WWE® talent scout and a member of the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame
JJ Dillon: leader of the legendary Four Horsemen and 2016 recipient of the Lou Thesz World Heavyweight Championship Award
Thunderbolt Patterson: WWA Tag Team Champion, NWA Brass Knuckles Champion, ordained minister and 2019 recipient of the Lou Thesz World Heavyweight Championship Award
Bob Roop: NWA United States Champion, won numerous regional titles, authored several books and 2006 inductee into the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame
Ken Anderson: ACW Heavyweight Champion, TNA World Heavyweight Champion and WWE® United States Champion
Tony Atlas: WWE Tag Team Champion with the late Rocky Johnson and known as Mr. USA for his incredible physique and power
Wes Brisco:  Former TNA Impact superstar and son of WWE® Hall of Famer Gerry Brisco
Colt Cabana: NWA World Champion, independent wrestling superstar and host of “The Art of Wrestling” podcast
Madman Fulton: ASWA Heavyweight Champion, AWE/ARW Tag Team Champion and Mid-Ohio Tag Team Champion
Tony Garea: Five-time WWF World Tag Team Champion
Dominic Garrini: Brazilian Jiu Jitsu gold medalist, PWF Tag Team Champion, SUP Bonestorm Champion and SUP Tag Team Champion
Gary Jay: PWW Tag Team Champion, SLA Heavyweight Champion and PWF Heavyweight Champion
Kevin Nash: Multiple world champion and founding member of the NWO
PACO: AAW Heritage Champion and PGP Tag Team Champion
Tommy Rich: AWF Tag Team Champion, NWA Hall of Fame and WCW World Six-Man Tag Team Champion
Curt Stallion: ACW Unified Champion, OSW Light Heavyweight Champion and PGP Cutting Edge Champion

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations