National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Stratus Will Receive Lou Thesz Award

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum is excited to announce that Trish Stratus will be the first female recipient of the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame’s Lou Thesz  Award during induction weekend on July 23-25.

The Lou Thesz Award recognizes those in the professional wrestling industry who have used their skills in the realm of public service. Past recipients of the prestigious award named in honor of Thesz, who was a 15-time World Champion, include Edge, Booker T, Jim Ross, JJ Dillon and Thunderbolt Patterson.

“To be receiving this award, named after one of our industry’s greatest is truly humbling, and to be the first female means so much – I am beyond honored,” said Stratus. “It gives me hope as a female that our work is being acknowledged, and to be able to take our place in history means everything.”

Stratus began her career as a fitness model and then began working for the World Wrestling Federation (WWF), which was later renamed World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE). She was a WWE Hardcore Champion, a three-time WWE Babe of the Year and was proclaimed Diva of the Decade.

After nearly seven years in the business, Stratus retired from wrestling full-time on September 17, 2006 at WWE Unforgiven, where she won her record-setting seventh WWE Women’s Championship. She was inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame in 2013.

All-Access passes for induction weekend are available for $115 until May 31. All-Access Passes provide admission to all events, including a ticket to the Hall of Fame Banquet, a ringside seat at the Impact Pro Wrestling show, if available, and preferred access at the autograph signing. Some events are only open to All-Access Pass holders and distinguished guests.

To order your All-Access Pass, please email or telephone (319) 233-0745.

Inductees and luminaries of the sport scheduled to attend induction weekend include:

Gerry Brisco: WWE® Hall of Famer, NWA World Junior Heavyweight Champion, NWA World Tag Team Champion, longtime WWE® talent scout and a member of the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame
JJ Dillon: leader of the legendary Four Horsemen and 2016 recipient of the Lou Thesz World Heavyweight Championship Award
Thunderbolt Patterson: WWA Tag Team Champion, NWA Brass Knuckles Champion, ordained minister and 2019 recipient of the Lou Thesz World Heavyweight Championship Award
Bob Roop: NWA United States Champion, won numerous regional titles, authored several books and 2006 inductee into the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame
Mark Henry: 2020 Frank Gotch Award
Adnan AlKaissy: 2020 George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame Inductee
Ken Shamrock: UFC Hall of Fame, NWA World Heavyweight Champion, WWF Tag Team Champion
Kevin Nash: Multiple world champion and founding member of the NWO
Wes Brisco:  Former TNA Impact superstar and son of WWE® Hall of Famer Gerry Brisco
Tommy Rich: AWF Tag Team Champion, NWA Hall of Fame, WCW World Six-Man Tag Team Champion
Tony Garea: Five-time WWF World Tag Team Champion
Colt Cabana: NWA World Champion, independent wrestling superstar and host of “The Art of Wrestling” podcast
Ken Anderson: ACW Heavyweight Champion, TNA World Heavyweight Champion, WWE® United States Champion
Gary Jay: PWW Tag Team Champion, SLA Heavyweight Champion and PWF Heavyweight Champion
Curt Stallion: ACW Unified Champion, OSW Light Heavyweight Champion and PGP Cutting Edge Champion
PACO: AAW Heritage Champion and PGP Tag Team Champion
Dominic Garrini: Brazilian Jiu Jitsu gold medalist, PWF Tag Team Champion, SUP Bonestorm Champion and SUP Tag Team Champion
Madman Fulton: ASWA Heavyweight Champion, AWE/ARW Tag Team Champion and Mid-Ohio Tag Team Champion
Tony Atlas: WWE Tag Team Champion with the late Rocky Johnson and known as Mr. USA for his incredible physique and power