New York - Upstate Chapter

Official State Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

The future of American society depends upon the existence of a strong citizenry, comprised of individuals with leadership qualities based upon self-discipline, self-reliance, and self-confidence. The sport of wrestling helps build these characteristics in youth, regardless of their physical, economic, cultural, or geographic backgrounds. The National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum seeks to broaden the understanding and development of these values in the following manner:

  1. Through recognition of those who have demonstrated these characteristics while achieving or developing excellence in the sport as wrestlers, coaches, and contributors.
  2. Through recognition of those who have demonstrated these characteristics while achieving excellence in other walks of life after participating in wrestling.
  3. Through the maintenance of documentation and memorabilia that depicts and preserves the history of the sport.
  4. Through stimulation and encouragement of those who establish and conduct activities at all levels nationwide.
  5. Through the development of State Chapters that will continuously strive to enhance the image of the sport of wrestling at the state and national levels.


Lifetime Service To Wrestling

Given in recognition of years of dedication to the development of leadership and citizenship in the youth through the sport of wrestling.

Outstanding American

Given to former wrestlers who are highly successful and use the disciplines learned in wrestling in their profession.

Medal of Courage

Is presented to a wrestler or former wrestler who has overcome what appear to be insurmountable challenges.

Upstate NY Chapter Nomination Forms:

Lifetime Service Nomination Form

Outstanding American Nomination Form

Medal of Courage Nomination Form

Volunteer Nomination Form

Stanbro Media Nomination Form

New York - Upstate Chapter Board

Carl KoenigPresident
Fred Brown, Don DeBadts, Stan Elinsky, Pat Greene, Pete Hausrath, Reed Hawke, Tim Herman, Michael Hogan, Jim Howard, Jeanne Jackson, Eric Knuutila, Don Kovalchik, Cark Koenig, John Kopalek, Jack LaBombard, Frank Marotta, Dr. Thomas Martin, Ed Michael, Bob Zifchock, Jennie Jackson, Michael Hogan

Visit us on Facebook.

New York - Upstate Chapter Inductions

The Upstate New York State Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame would like to announce their new inductees into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and this year's winner of the Outstanding American Award.

This year we take great pride in recognizing the individuals who will be honored on September 24, 2023 at the Double Tree Hotel in East Syracuse, New York. The individuals who will be receiving the Lifetime Service Award at this occasion are:

  • Robert Coppola - high school coach Central Square in Section III
  • Gary Edwards - high school coach at Peru Central School in Section VII
  • Kevin Gallagher - high school coach at Minisink Valley Central in Section IX
  • Dave Hickson - national wrestling official
  • John Leone - high school coach at Penfield Central School in Section V
  • Tom Stanbro - high school coach in Greene Central School in Section IV

Other Awards:

  • Jack Romagnoli (Outstanding American Award) - former coach at Canastota High School and wrestler at St. Lawrence University
  • James Johnson (Stanbro Media Award) - Rochester Democrat & Chronicle

New York - Upstate Chapter News

Latest New York - Upstate Chapter News

Upstate New York Chapter January 2024 Newsletter

Romagnoli Honored by New York State Senate

Norman Foster Honored by Amherst Central

Upstate Chapter's Servidone Achieves 400th Win

2nd NYSPHSAA Girls' Wrestling Invitational

NYS Dual Meet Championships Results

Wrestling Returns to Buffalo Public Schools

Upstate New York Chapter December 2023 Newsletter

Upstate New York wrestling news and notes

- SUNY Buffalo State's new women's program

- Cornell to compete in Ivy League Tournament in 2025

- A Hall of Fame rivalry dating back to 1980

Class of 2023

National Wrestling Hall of Fame Upstate New York Chapter Class of 2023

(Left to Right): John Leone, Dave Hickson, Robert Coppola, Ton Stanbro, Jack Romagnoli, Gary Edwards, Kevin Gallagher.

Upstate New York Chapter’s Social/Golf Outing

On July 17, 2023, over 35 wrestling people gathered at the Millstone Golf course in Elbridge to discuss wrestling old and new. The gathering was so successful that the Chapter will attempt to duplicate it next year.

Coach Alex Conti Recieves NWCA National High School Coaches of the Year

The Upstate New York Chapter of the NWHOF is proud that Alex Conti was awarded the NWCA Girls Coach of the Year Award. Alex has been instrumental in the development of girls’ wrestling in the Empire state and promoting all wrestling in the state.

Carlene Sluberski Embarkes on First Women's Wrestling Season at D'Youville University

D’Youville University will be embarking on their first women’s wrestling season in 2023-24 and have high hopes to develop a high caliber team under the guidance of Coach Carlene Sluberski.

State College of Cortland Plans to Recognize All Graduates Inducted into NWHOF

The Upstate New York Chapter has learned that the State College of Cortland is planning to honor all of their past state inductees of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. Currently, there are 29 Cortland graduates recognized.

NWHOF Upstate New York Chapter Set to Present Awards at 2023 Ceremony

The Upstate New York Chapter will recognize several individuals at the 2023 ceremony for their contributions to wrestling in New York.

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations