NWHOF Upstate New York Chapter Set to Present Awards at 2023 Ceremony

In addition to our annual National Wrestling Hall of Fame inductions, the Chapter is pleased to recognize several other individuals at our ceremony. 

The Chapter presents the Stanbro Media Award which goes to an individual who advocates for wrestling in one of the many media sources available. This year the award goes to James Johnson who covers wrestling in Section V of the state. James does much work promoting our sport to the people in the section and state. We are very appreciative of all the support that he provides for wrestling. 

Furthermore, we are honored to present Outstanding Wrestling Awards to the boys and girls in the Empire state. 

This year the Robert Feldmeier’s Outstanding Wrestler Award given to the outstanding wrestler in the Division I grouping is shared by Tyler Ferrara from Chenango Forks and Ethan Gallo of Minisink Valley. Additionally, the Richard Hausrath Outstanding Wrestler Award for the Division II category goes to Homer’s Sam Sorenson. 

The Steve Silver Outstanding Girls Wrestler Award is given to Tioga’s Emily Sindoni. Ferrara and Sindoni also were selected as the Dave Schultz and Tricia Saunders winners for the state. This is the second year that our Chapter’s Tricia Saunders nomination was selected for this very prestigious award. 

We would like to especially thank our sponsors of these awards for all their support in recognizing these honorees.

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations