National Wrestling Hall of Fame

The Gold Standard

Celebrating 108 years of U.S. Olympic Gold Medal Wrestling Glory
Published by National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum
Sponsored by USA Wrestling and Levitetz Family Foundation

The book, titled “The Gold Standard,” presents the history of the 47 wrestling Olympic champions from the United States who have won 50 gold medals from 1904 to 2008.

“At some point in the lives of each of these 47 gold medalists, the joy of competing fueled their passion for wrestling,” said Lee Roy Smith, executive director of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. “We pay tribute to these extraordinary individuals and to our national governing body, USA Wrestling, for helping pave the way to wrestling’s greatest glory.”

This full color booklet features narrative from the Olympic Games, an honor roll of Olympic wrestling champions with their biographies, Olympic symbols and traditions, wrestling champions from the ancient Olympic Games, and a trivia challenge.

“I am a firm believer in high standards,” said Dan Gable, 1972 Olympic champion. “An Olympic gold medal is the highest standard in our sport.”

Order The Gold Standard The Gold Standard @ $12.00