National Wrestling Hall of Fame State Chapter Program Partners with National Collegiate Wrestling Association

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame has taken a significant step forward in its mission to honor and recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of wrestling.

In a recent development, the Hall of Fame's State Chapter program has proudly announced a strategic partnership with the National Collegiate Wrestling Association (NCWA).

This collaboration is set to enrich the Hall of Fame's efforts in identifying and celebrating deserving individuals across various levels of the sport. The partnership with NCWA, an organization deeply rooted in collegiate wrestling, opens new avenues to acknowledge the achievements and dedication of coaches, officials, and contributors in the collegiate wrestling community.

"We are thrilled to announce our partnership with the National Collegiate Wrestling Association, a key player in fostering growth and creating opportunities within the wrestling community," said Lee Roy Smith, Executive Director, National Wrestling Hall of Fame. "This collaboration allows us to work together to identify and honor coaches, officials, and contributors who have made significant and positive impacts on our sport. Recognizing these deserving individuals is not just about celebrating their achievements; it's about acknowledging their role in shaping the future of wrestling. We believe this partnership will greatly assist in our mission to celebrate those who have dedicated themselves to the advancement of wrestling."

"The NCWA is extremely excited to deepen our partnership with the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. This collaboration goes beyond just strengthening ties; it's a pivotal step towards celebrating the unsung heroes of wrestling," said Jim Giunta, Founder and Executive Director, NCWA. "Our focus is not only on reinforcing this partnership, but also on aiding the Hall of Fame in identifying and honoring noteworthy individuals, particularly the deserving coaches and officials from our conference."

State Chapters honor individuals with the following awards:

Lifetime Service to Wrestling to coaches, officials and contributors who have given 20 years or more of dedication to the development of leadership and citizenship in the youth through the sport of wrestling.

Medal of Courage is presented to former wrestler who has overcome what appear to be insurmountable challenges, which may be physical, mental or other disabilities that make their achievements all the more uplifting.

Outstanding American recognizes former wrestlers who are highly successful in other walks of life and use the disciplines learned in wrestling.

Nominations for State Chapter awards can be made at

The State Chapter program was established by the Hall of Fame in 1993 to honor and recognize coaches, officials and others at the grassroots level of wrestling. This select group represents the best qualities of wrestling and are instrumental to the sport’s continued success and growth.

The NCWA, known for its dedication to the growth and development of college wrestling, brings to the table a wealth of knowledge and a network that spans numerous colleges and universities. This alliance will facilitate a more comprehensive recognition process, ensuring that achievements at the collegiate level are celebrated and remembered.

The NCWA was formed by Giunta in 1997 and began competing in 1998 with 18 teams and 116 athletes. Today, the NCWA has over 150 teams, 2,500 current athletes and over 35,000 alumni across America and Canada.

The NCWA established the first collegiate women’s wrestling division in 2007 and held the first women’s collegiate national championship in 2008.

The Hall of Fame has State Chapter programs in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. States that do not have programs are Delaware, Hawaii, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, and Wyoming.

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame and the NCWA are excited about the potential of this partnership and are committed to working together to continue the tradition of excellence in wrestling.

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations