Dan Gable Museum announces 2017 Glen Brand HOF Class

WATERLOO, Iowa—An individual NCAA champion, a freestyle World team member, a three-time NCAA tournament finalist, two legendary high school wrestling coaches and a record breaking team will be inducted into the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa on Saturday, June 24, 2017.

The Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa is located inside the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum in Waterloo, Iowa.

The Class of 2017 is Tom Kettman (Gilbertville-Don Bosco), Chad Zaputil (Iowa), Travis Paulson (Iowa State), Trent Paulson (Iowa State), Chris Flanagan (posthumously) and the 1987 Iowa State wrestling team.

Darrell Frain will be presented with the Bob Siddens Iowa High School Coaching Excellence Award and Jim Brown will receive the Russ Smith Community Impact Award.

A banquet honoring all inductees and award winners will be held at the Five Sullivan Brothers Convention Center in Waterloo on Saturday, June 24. For more information contact the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum at (319) 233-0745 or dgmstaff@nwhof.org.

The Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa was established in 2002 to honor those individuals who have made an impact on the sport on a national level, or who have done extraordinary work in the State of Iowa. The hall recognizes native-born Iowans, and those who achieved their fame while wrestling or coaching for an Iowa school.

Tom Kettman led Gilbertville-Don Bosco to 12 state team wrestling championships - five traditional (2006-10) and seven dual (2002, 2005-10) - during 11 seasons as head coach from 2001-11. He coached 17 individual state champions, including four-time winners Mack Reiter (2000-03) and Bart Reiter (2006-09), and his son, Taylor Kettman (2011). Kettman, who was a two-time Division III NCAA tournament qualifier for Loras College, finished his high school coaching career with a 262-28 dual meet record.

Chad Zaputil was a three-time Big Ten champion and a three-time NCAA tournament finalist (1991-93) at 118 pounds with a career college record of 109-8-1 (.928). He was a crucial part of Iowa winning NCAA team championships during his three years as a starter. Zaputil was a two-time state wrestling champion for Centerville (1987-88) and a three-time state finalist. All three of his opponents in the state finals were future college teammates, including future NCAA champions and current Iowa wrestling coaches, Tom Brands and Terry Brands.

Travis Paulson was a three-time All-American for Iowa State, a member of the U.S. freestyle World team in 2010 (163 pounds), and a finalist at the 2012 U.S. Olympic Trials (185 pounds). Paulson ended his Cyclone career with a 106-32 record, finishing sixth at the NCAA Tournament in 2004 and 2006 and fifth in 2007. He was a three-time state champion (1999, 2001 and 2002) for Council Bluffs-Lewis Central finishing with a career record of 172-3.

Trent Paulson was an NCAA champion, two-time Big 12 champion and three-time All-American for Iowa State with a career college record of 117-20. He placed fourth at the NCAA tournament as a sophomore in 2005 and as a junior in 2006 before winning the 157-pound title in 2007. He also made a freestyle World team in 2009 at 145.5 pounds. During his high school career at Council Bluffs-Lewis Central, Paulson posted a 192-2 career record with 115 falls and was a two-time state champion (2001 and 2002).

Chris Flanagan was named head wrestling coach at Cresco High School in 1936 and led his teams to four state championships and six runner-up finishes. Flanagan coached 34 individual state champions and compiled a 317-89-5 dual meet record. He was an Iowa Collegiate champion for Iowa State Teachers College, now Northern Iowa, in 1933.

The 1987 Iowa State wrestling team will be the fifth team inducted into the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa. The Cyclones won the NCAA Division I Championships with six All-Americans, five finalists and four NCAA champions. Jim Gibbons led Iowa State to the title at the age of 27 in only his second season as head coach. Iowa State’s victory prevented Iowa from winning its 10th NCAA tournament in a row.

The starting lineup was Perry Summitt (118), Billy Kelly (first at 126), Jeff Gibbons (third at 134), Joe Ghezzi (142), Tim Krieger (first at 150), Stewart Carter (first at 158), Kevin Jackson (second at 167), Steve Metzger (177), Eric Voelker (first at 190), and Andy Cope (HWT). Assistant coaches were Les Anderson, Ed Banach, Joe Gibbons and Kevin Darkus.

Darrell Frain will receive the Bob Siddens High School Coaching Excellence Award. Frain has served as head wrestling coach at Creston Orient-Macksburg for 17 seasons where he has a 292-58 dual meet record. His teams have won traditional state wrestling tournament titles in 2007 and 2016, and state dual team championships in 2007 and 2008. He has coached 30 individual state finalists and 18 state champions, including Jake Marlin, who is one of 25 individuals to win four state wrestling titles in Iowa.

Jim Brown will receive the Russ Smith Community Impact Award, which is presented to an individual who demonstrates exceptional local impact on wrestling in Iowa.

In 2009, Brown began what became Tickets for Kids when he purchased tickets to University of Iowa matches and donated them to youth wrestling clubs, middle school teams and youth organizations. A year later he expanded the program to include the NWCA National Duals and the NCAA Division III Wrestling Championships. By 2016, Brown’s generosity had given more than 7,500 young people the opportunity to attend dozens of college matches and major tournaments, including the 2016 Olympic Trials in Iowa City. The program was renamed Wrestling for Life in 2012, a change that inspired additional services to further the mission of encouraging and keeping youth involved in wrestling, including awarding scholarships to camps and clinics.

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum is a non-profit organization based out of Waterloo, Iowa. The mission of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame is to preserve history, recognize excellence, and inspire future generations.

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations