National Wrestling Hall of Fame


The New Jersey Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame became a reality with the induction of the Class of 2001. We thank the founders of the New Jersey Chapter: Frank Mosier, John Harmon & Barry Burtnett.

The Inductees are in three separate classifications: Lifetime Service to Wrestling, Outstanding American, and State Medal of Courage. All Inductees are honored at the Annual Award Banquet and have a plaque in their honor in the National Hall of Fame in Stillwater,Oklahoma.

A Message From the Membership:

Welcome to the web site of the New Jersey Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.  We are pleased that you are interested in viewing the information we have developed which informs you about the activities our Chapter has been engaged in during the past several months.

 We hope that the information provided best describes some of the work our membership has been committed to doing for the advancement of wrestling especially in the State of New Jersey.

Through this web site, we look forward in providing timely messages, information about previous sponsored events, as well as conversation about wrestling, and what activities the New Jersey Chapter has planned and designed in the weeks and months that follow.

Take the time to read, enjoy, and most importantly, become involved through our web site in continuing to make our sport the great one that it is in the State of New Jersey, and beyond.

Thank you.

Board of Directors for the New Jersey Chapter National Wrestling Hall of Fame

More Information

Lifetime Service To Wrestling

Given in recognition of years of dedication to the development of leadership and citizenship in the youth through the sport of wrestling.

Outstanding American

Given to former wrestlers who are highly successful and use the disciplines learned in wrestling in their profession.

Medal of Courage

Is presented to a wrestler or former wrestler who has overcome what appear to be insurmountable challenges.

New Jersey Chapter Board

President                                     Gary Kessel
Vice President                             Howie O’Neil
Treasurer                                      Dr. William Miron
Secretary                                      Peter Frampton
Public Relations/Marketing         Ken Bernabe
NWHOF Development Officer    Steve Jastrabek
Webmaster                                   Laura Nawrocik

Important Dates to Remember

Executive Board General Meeting – April 19, 2020, 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., SRC large conference room, Rider University

Nomination’s Committee Meeting – May 17, 2020,  10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., SRC small conference room, Rider University


Induction Ceremony Programs