The Hinschberger / Shedenhelm Family

The Hinschberger / Shedenhelm Family, comprised of 14 wrestlers, will receive the Bowlsby Family Legacy Award. Since 1971, a Hinschberger / Shedenhelm family member has wrestled or coached. The Hinschberger / Shedenhelm legacy began at Belle Plaine High School with the Hinschberger brothers: Tom, Jim, Dean, Kurt, and Bruce. Tom, the eldest, finished fourth at the Iowa high school championships in 1972 and wrestled for the University of Northern Iowa before sustaining a career-ending injury in 1975. Kurt was a two-time Iowa state champion in 1978 and 1979 while Jim, Dean and Bruce all wrestled. Kurt married Terri Jo Shedenhelm, a native of Belle Plaine, Iowa, and they had two sons, Dustin and Drew. Dustin was a three-time NCAA Division III national champion for Wartburg College after placing fourth (2000), third (2001) and first (2002) at the Iowa state tournament. Drew finished sixth (2006), third (2008) and first (2009) at the Iowa state tournament and was a national qualifier for Coe College. Dean’s two sons, Erich and Lance, also wrestled. Erich placed fourth at the Iowa state tournament in 1998 while Lance finished sixth (2012) and third (2013) at state before wrestling at Upper Iowa University. Terri Jo’s brothers, Kurt and Kevin Shedenhelm, also wrestled for Belle Plaine. Kurt finished fifth in 1981 and third in 1982 and 1983 at the Iowa state tournament and was a Freestyle Junior Nationals runner-up before becoming a three-time NCAA qualifier for the University of Northern Iowa. Kevin placed third (1983) and second (1984) at the Iowa state tournament and also wrestled for UNI. Kevin became the head wrestling coach at Denver (Iowa) High School and coached his three sons, Blaze, Chase, and Izaak. Blaze was a state qualifier in 2010 while Chase was state runner-up in 2012 and state champion in 2013 and Izaak finished third in 2015 and first in 2016. Chase and Izaak both wrestled for UNI. 


Bowlsby Family Legacy Award

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations