Bill Tate

Bill Tate Sr. will receive the Russ Smith Community Impact Award, presented to individuals who demonstrate exceptional local impact on wrestling in Iowa. A native of Waterloo, he wrestled for East Waterloo High School and placed third in the state high school tournament in 1961. Tate founded the Waterloo Boys Club wrestling program in 1972 and served as the head coach for 10 years, positively impacting the youth in Waterloo and surrounding communities. Tate’s assistant coaches were Larry Sallis, Aaron Roberts and Phillip Caldwell. Several wrestlers coached by Tate became Iowa state champions, including West Waterloo High School’s John DeGiacoma, Tim Kinghammer, Mike Van Arsdale, Taras Stevenson, and Tony Hanson; East Waterloo High School’s Darnell Sallis, Chuck Pearson and Maurice Morehead; Denver High School’s Todd Smith; and Central High School’s Wayne Love. He also coached Stewart Carter and Mike Van Arsdale, who became NCAA champions for Iowa State.


Russ Smith Community Impact Award

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations