1947 Cornell College Championship Team

In 1947 Cornell College, located in Mount Vernon, Iowa, became the first team outside the state of Oklahoma, and the first in the state of Iowa, to win an official NCAA wrestling tournament. The private liberal arts school – with an enrollment of 415 male students at the time – defeated all teams entered at the tournament by a sizable margin. Of the eight weight classes contested, Cornell had two NCAA champions (Dick Hauser and Lowell Lange) and four other place winners (Leo Thomsen, Rodger Snook, Fred Dexter, and Dale Thomas).


Glen Brand Team Award

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations