2008 Waverly-Shell Rock High School Wrestling Team

Waverly-Shell Rock High School won the 3A Iowa High School State Championship with a record-setting performance.

The Go-Hawks set the all-time point record with 225 points. Thirteen of the 14 members of the team qualified for state, including four state champions. It was the second of five traditional state team championships during Rick Caldwell’s tenure as head wrestling coach.

The starting line-up for their 2008 state championship team was Jordan Rinken (fourth at 103), Cody Caldwell (fourth at 112), Jake Ballweg (first at 119), Matthew Kittleson (third at 125), A.C. Campbell (fourth at 130), Mark Ballweg (first at 135), Cory Nolte (SQ at 140), Justin Denner (145), Kyle Cox (third at 152), Reed Kahler (fourth at 160), Lee Averhoff (third at 171), Dylan Wrage (first at 189), Cody Krumweide (sixth at 215), Eric Thompson (first at HWT).

Assistant coaches were Mike Schwab, Eric Whitcome, Williams Soesbe, Josh Meier, and Alain Djoumessi.


Glen Brand Team Award

Our Mission: To honor the sport of wrestling by preserving its history, recognizing extraordinary individual achievements, and inspiring future generations