National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Three New Members Added To Board Of Governors

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday that its Board of Governors has unanimously approved Daniel Hyman (Newport Beach, California), Austin Shanfelter (Fort Myers, Florida) and Bret Sharp (North Liberty, Iowa) as members, beginning in 2018.

“We are excited to add three more talented individuals to our Board,” said Terry Shockley, Chairman of the Board of Governors. “These individuals, like all of our Board members, share a great passion for wrestling, and are willing to commit their time and resources for the important work that our Board does on behalf of the Hall of Fame and its museums in Stillwater, Oklahoma, and Waterloo, Iowa.”

Hyman is managing director and co-head of the agency mortgage portfolio management team at PIMCO. He won the EIWA championship as a senior at Lehigh University after transferring from Arizona State University. Hyman wrestled four years for North Gate High School in Walnut Creek, California.

Shanfelter is a board member, as a director, of both Sabre Industries and Orion Group Holdings where he has served as chairman of its Compensation Committee since 2007 and on the Nominating and Governance Committee since May of 2010. He wrestled at Lock Haven University from 1976 to 1980 and then served one season as the assistant coach. He is a member of the Lock Haven Wrestling Hall of Fame and the Power and Communication Contractors Association Hall of Fame.

Sharp is the founder and owner of Sharp Investment Properties. He wrestled at Drake University before it dropped its program, and qualified for the NCAA Division I Championships as a sophomore and junior. He transferred to Augsburg University and placed third at the NCAA Division III Championships as a senior in 1992. Sharp is a member of the Augsburg Athletics Hall of Fame.

The Board of Governors is responsible for preserving the history and tradition of the sport of wrestling in America by operation of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum in Stillwater, Oklahoma, and the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum in Waterloo, Iowa. The Board is also responsible for the annual election of Distinguished Members, Outstanding American, Medal of Courage, Order of Merit, and Lifetime Service to Officials.

The Board is comprised of no less than 10, and not more than 30 members, who shall serve a maximum of six consecutive years in as many as three consecutive two-year terms. Three members of the Board shall represent United World Wrestling, USA Wrestling, and the National Wrestling Coaches Association. Those individuals are nominated by their organizations, and must be approved by the Board.