National Wrestling Hall of Fame


Soon, Nominations will being taken for the 2020 Alabama Wrestling Hall of Fame Class.  Soon you will see a nomination form link to the left.  Please email the form to


The Alabama Chapter will be holding its 2019 NWHOF banquet at 4pm on Saturday, May 4th, 2019 at Jefferson State Community College, Shelby campus.  Tickets and sponsorships can be bought at or contact Jeff Saxon for sponsorships at


Outstanding American

Dan Featherston, Official


Lifetime Service to Wrestling

Billy Hughes, Fultondale High School, Coach

Bobby Laxton, Deshler High School, Coach

Trent Miller, Prattville High School, Coach

Joe Perkins, W.A. Berry High School, Coach/Director

Michael Pruitt, Arab High School, Coach

Willie Staggs, Official

Gene Taylor, Weaver High School, Coach



Jefferson State Comm. College, Shelby Campus, 4700 Valleydale Rd., Hoover, AL

Saturday, May 4th, 2019

4:00 pm Social Hour

5:00 pm – Dinner

6:00 pm – Induction Ceremony

Tickets on Sale with Limited Number Available at:




Class of 2018

Steve Burrough (Medal of Courage)
Dwight Buzbee (Lifetime Service to Wrestling)
John Calvarese (Lifetime Service to Wrestling)
Randy Haught (Lifetime Service to Wrestling)
Jim Jeffrey (Lifetime Service to Wrestling)
Red Lutz (Lifetime Service to Wrestling)
Van A. Phillips Sr (Outstanding American)
Dickey Wright (Lifetime Service to Wrestling)



Lifetime Service To Wrestling

Given in recognition of years of dedication to the development of leadership and citizenship in the youth through the sport of wrestling.

Outstanding American

Given to former wrestlers who are highly successful and use the disciplines learned in wrestling in their profession.

Medal of Courage

Is presented to a wrestler or former wrestler who has overcome what appear to be insurmountable challenges.

Alabama Chapter Board

2018-2019 Officers

Toney Pugh – President

Jeff Saxon – Secretary

Don Korn – Treasurer

Other Board Members

Willie Staggs

Dwight Buzbee

Jeff Hasse

John Calvarese

Steve Gaydosh,

Jeff Haase

Jack Burton

Daryle Qualls

Willie Staggs

Glynn Stowe

Dickey Wright

email is

Alabama Wrestling