National Wrestling Hall of Fame


The Florida Chapter Honors Weekend

is just around the corner.

Save the date: August 11 & 12 2017

A great weekend is planned, starting with a golf tournament on Friday morning at the Remington Golf Club in Kissimmee. Registration is at 8:30am.  If you enter the tournament, you are included in our “Meet the Inductee” Social that night from 8:00-10:00pm at the Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Resort.

On Saturday morning at 9:00am you won’t want to miss the Testimonial Brunch which has become a sold out event so get your reservations in early. The Friday night Social, Brunch and Banquet are all held at the Wyndham.

For rooming reservations, you may call the Wyndham for our group rate: 800-624-4109 or enter into your address line.


Applications for nominations are accepted on a continual basis. Applications should be sent to Robert Burns, VP of Nominations. Please email him for further instructions.

The slate for the 2018 Induction will be processed during our annual retreat in September 2017.

Donations to the Florida Chapter may be made by (Note: A convenience fee is charged by ticketleap)


Questions? Contact:
Jane Townsend 561.876.5830 or Teeny Smith 772.631.2739 or


Lifetime Service To Wrestling

Given in recognition of years of dedication to the development of leadership and citizenship in the youth through the sport of wrestling.

Outstanding American

Given to former wrestlers who are highly successful and use the disciplines learned in wrestling in their profession.

Medal of Courage

Is presented to a wrestler or former wrestler who has overcome what appear to be insurmountable challenges.

John & Helen Vaughan Award

This prestigious chapter award was created to acknowledge those deserving individuals who otherwise may not receive recognition for their profound contribution to the sport of amateur wrestling in the state.

Board Members

The Florida Chapter for the National Wrestling Hall of Fame was established in 2000.

Our mailing address is:

National Wrestling Hall of Fame ~ Florida Chapter
3167 Hoylake Road, Lake Worth, FL 33467


Gary Townsend
Sam Agresti
Bill Combs
Don Smith
Jane Townsend
Robert Matyskiel
Robert Burns

BOARD (1 Year terms)

ALUMNI – Steve Sentes
FAWA – Steve Mocco
FHSAA – Robbie Lindeman
COACHES – Pete Collins
OFFICIALS – Pat Fairfax


Welcome Class of 2017

Fidel Albelo – Coach

Allen Held – Coach

Henry Jackson – Coach

Dan Kelly – Coach

Russell A. Mauger, Jr.* – Coach

Bob Thomas – Coach