National Wrestling Hall of Fame


Welcome to the home of the Connecticut chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. The Connecticut chapter is a direct extension of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Chapter and Museum in Stillwater, Oklahoma.
The Connecticut chapter provides outreach and support for the National Hall. Our chapter was formed in 2002 to honor committed coaches, officials, contributors and other deserving individuals from Connecticut. Our first induction banquet was in 2003 with additional banquets in 2004 and 2005. The chapter was restarted in 2009 by current president Ted Ozkowski and we have hosted three induction banquets.


Lifetime Service To Wrestling

Given in recognition of years of dedication to the development of leadership and citizenship in the youth through the sport of wrestling.

Outstanding American

Given to former wrestlers who are highly successful and use the disciplines learned in wrestling in their profession.

Medal of Courage

Is presented to a wrestler or former wrestler who has overcome what appear to be insurmountable challenges.

Chapter Board of Directors

Ted Oczkowski, President
203-797-4460, Ext. 4884; Email:
Dr. Erich Doubek, Treasurer and Vice President, Finance
860-354-8583; Email:
Gerry deSimas, Jr., Corresponding Secretary
860-673-5483; Email:
Nick Grosso, Vice President, Nominations
203-203-4458; Email:
Carmen Delvecchio, Banquet Coordinator
860-982-9656; Email:
Mark Cammisa, Director
203-790-9209; Email:
Gary Tilbe, Director
203-802-8633; Email:
Andrew Duperre, Director
860-508-3659; Email:
Kevin Holmgren, Director
860-460-0217; Email:


Connecticut wrestling

Chapter awards three scholarships in 2016

In 2015, the Connecticut chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame awarded $500 college scholarships to three outstanding scholar athletes. The chapter selected Fairfield Warde’s Charlie Kane to receive the Career Achievement scholarship. New Fairfield’s Alec Opsal and New Milford’s Bryan Rojas were each awarded a Scholar Athlete award. Read more about the three scholarship winners

Six inducted in Connecticut Wrestling Hall of Fame

As part of the evening to celebrate wrestling in Connecticut, six individuals were inducted into the newly-formed Connecticut Wrestling Hall of Fame for their excellence on the mat.  

  • The late Steve Fernandes of Southington, a three-time NCAA Division III All-American and 1982 Division III national champion at Trenton State, now called the College of New Jersey.
  • Former Norwich Free Academy wrestler Tony Gizio, who won two New England titles, two State Open titles and was a NHSCA All-American.
  • Former Hand High wrestler Jim Guzzio, who won two New England titles in high school in 1991 and 1992 and became just the second Connecticut native to earn NCAA Division I All-American honors at the University of Maryland in 1997.
  • Former Somers wrestler Brendan Harris, one of just two men in Connecticut to win four State Open titles. He also won a New England title in 1998.
  • T.J. MarcAurele, the NFA and Ledyard High wrestler, who won three New England titles, four State Open championships (1989-92). In 1989, he won the Cadet Division (ages 15-16) world championship in Greco-Roman.
  • Former Waterford High wrestler Stefenie Shaw, who twice finished fourth at the U.S. Olympic trials, won a bronze medal for the U.S. at the 2004 Pan-American Championships and won a U.S. national championship in 2008.